Doctor Who: Remembrance Of The Daleks

Adam Duncan reviews

Doctor Who: Remembrance Of The Daleks
Distributed by


  • Cert:
  • BBCDVD 1040
  • Running time: 93 minutes
  • Year: 1988
  • Pressing: 2000
  • Region(s): 2,4, PAL
  • Chapters: 24 plus extras
  • Sound: Stereo
  • Languages: English
  • Subtitles: English
  • Fullscreen: 4:3
  • 16:9-Enhanced: No
  • Macrovision: No
  • Disc Format: DVD 9
  • Price: £19.99
  • Extras: Audio Commentary from Sylvester McCoy and Sophie Aldred, DeletedScenes, Outtakes, Music Only Option, Photo Gallery, Multi-Angle Scenes, BBC1Trailers, On-ScreenProduction Notes.


      Andrew Morgan


      John Nathan-Turner


      Ben Aaronovitch


      Keff McCulloch


      The Doctor: Sylvester McCoy
      Ace: Sophie Aldred
      Mike Smith: Dursley McLinden
      Professor Rachel Jensen: Pamela Salem
      Ratcliffe: George Sewell

The Doctor (Sylvester McCoy) and Ace (Sophie Aldred)arrive on Earth in 1963 to deal with some unfinishedbusiness. Two rival factions of Daleks are after The Hand Of Omega, anancient timelord device capable of great power.

The Daleks’ plan to use the device to perfect their own time-travelcapability so they can conquer time and space. The Doctor uses the help of alocal military unit to fend off as many Daleks as possible while hetries to find a solution.

Remembrance Of The Daleks is one of the best Doctor Who stories of the late80’s and possibly one of the best ever made.It’s great to see the Daleks at battle and the action scenes are prettylavish. The script does has its more serious issues particulary racism whichis highlighted throughout the story.

Okay the effects are not exactly movie standard but they are quite good fora 13 year old programme.

Remembrance Of The Daleks was first transmitted from October 5th to October26th, 1988.

The picture quality is very good and is very close to broadcast standard.

The sound is Stereo and was the first Who story made in that audio format.While the Stereo is fairly functional, a 5.1 mix would have done wonders forthe many explosions in this tale.


Chapters:There are 24 chapters spread throughout the feature as well as theoption of which episode to choose from.

Languages and Subtitles:The language and subtitles are in English.

Audio Commentary:A commentary from Sylvester McCoy and Sophie Aldred is onthe disc although it is not advertised on the box but it is included on theleaflet inside. The track is excellent as the two reveal all kinds ofinteresting facts about the making of this show such as that an explosionset off all car alarms in the location area and bought out the emergencyservices!

Deleted Scenes:There is 10 minutes of deleted and extended material on thedisc and is a nice inclusion but could have had the option of integratingthis into the feature courtesy of seamless branching.

Outtakes:There are 4 minutes of fairly amusing outtakes which mostly showsMcCoy goofing around on set and fluffing lines.

Music Only Option:This allows you to listen to Keff McCulloch’s score onits own.

Photo Gallery:The gallery has 67 images of main actors, daleks and behindthe scenes stills including a few shots of the infamous explosion in London.

Multi-Angle Scenes:This allows you to watch two different versions of twoscenes, the chemistry lab and the gate explosion, along with the final cutof the scenes. This did not go quite to plan due to authoring problems. Formore info go

BBC1 Trailers:2 trailers for the first two episodes are on the disc andlast around 35 seconds apiece.

On-Screen Production Notes:This reveals even more info on the story andmakes a good companion to the audio commentary.

Menus:The menus are animated with clips from the programme and music excerpts.

Overall, a great story on a excellent disc. There could have been a 5.1 mixand a featurette would have been nice but what we get is good enough. Anessential purchase for Who fans and a good one for more casual viewers.


Review copyright © Adam Duncan, 2001.E-mail Adam Duncan

[Up to the top of this page]

Reviewer of movies, videogames and music since 1994. Aortic valve operation survivor from the same year. Running since 2000. Nobel Peace Prize winner 2021.


You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.
Powered by WordPress | Designed by: wordpress themes 2012 | Thanks to Download Premium WordPress Themes, Compare Premium WordPress Themes and

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers: