BAFTA 2014 nominations announced!

The BAFTA 2014 Awards will take place on Sunday February 16th and will be broadcast on BBC1 that evening. The nominations are as follows:

hjlff13part1bBest Film

    12 Years a Slave (right)
    American Hustle
    Captain Phillips

Outstanding British Film

    Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom
    Saving Mr Banks
    The Selfish Giant

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

    Colin Carberry, Glenn Patterson – Good Vibrations
    Kelly Marcel – Saving Mr Banks
    Kieran Evans – Kelly + Victor
    Paul Wright, Polly Stokes – For Those in Peril
    Scott Graham – Shell

hjlff13part2Film Not in the English Language

    The Act of Killing
    Blue is the Warmest Colour (right)
    The Great Beauty
    Metro Manila


    The Act of Killing
    The Armstrong Lie
    Tim’s Vermeer
    We Steal Secrets: The Story of Wikileaks

Animated Film

    Despicable Me 2
    Monsters University

Original Screenplay

    Eric Warren Singer, David O Russell – American Hustle
    Woody Allen – Blue Jasmine
    Alfonso Cuarón, Jonas Cuarón – Gravity
    Joel Coen, Ethan Coen – Inside Llewyn Davis
    Bob Nelson – Nebraska

Adapted Screenplay

    John Ridley – 12 Years a Slave
    Richard LaGravenese – Behind the Candelabra
    Billy Ray – Captain Phillips
    Steve Coogan, Jeff Pope – Philomena
    Terence Winter – The Wolf of Wall Street


    Steve McQueen – 12 Years a Slave
    David O Russell – American Hustle
    Paul Greengrass – Captain Phillips
    Alfonso Cuarón – Gravity (right)
    Martin Scorsese – The Wolf of Wall Street

Leading Actor

    Bruce Dern – Nebraska
    Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave
    Christian Bale – American Hustle
    Leonardo DiCaprio – The Wolf of Wall Street
    Tom Hanks – Captain Phillips

Leading Actress

    Amy Adams – American Hustle
    Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine
    Sandra Bullock – Gravity
    Judi Dench – Philomena
    Emma Thompson – Saving Mr Banks

Supporting Actor

    Barkhad Abdi – Captain Phillips
    Daniel Brühl – Rush
    Bradley Cooper – American Hustle
    Matt Damon – Behind the Candelabra
    Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave

Supporting Actress

    Sally Hawkins – Blue Jasmine
    Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle
    Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
    Julia Roberts – August: Osage County
    Oprah Winfrey – The Butler

hjlff13part1aOriginal Music

    Hans Zimmer – 12 Years a Slave
    John Williams – The Book Thief
    Henry Jackman – Captain Phillips
    Steven Price – Gravity
    Thomas Newman – Saving Mr Banks (right)


    Sean Bobbitt – 12 Years a Slave
    Barry Ackroyd – Captain Phillips
    Emmanuel Lubezki – Gravity
    Bruno Delbonnel – Inside Llewyn Davis
    Phedon Papamichael – Nebraska


    Joe Walker – 12 Years a Slave
    Christopher Rouse – Captain Phillips
    Alfonso Cuarón, Mark Sanger – Gravity
    Dan Hanley, Mike Hill – Rush
    Thelma Schoonmaker – The Wolf of Wall Street

Production Design

    Adam Stockhausen, Alice Baker – 12 Years a Slave
    Judy Becker, Heather Loeffler – American Hustle
    Howard Cummings – Behind the Candelabra
    Andy Nicholson, Rosie Goodwin, Joanne Woodlard – Gravity
    Catherine Martin, Beverley Dunn – The Great Gatsby

Costume Design

    Michael Wilkinson – American Hustle
    Ellen Mirojnick – Behind the Candelabra
    Catherine Martin – The Great Gatsby
    Michael O’Connor – The Invisible Woman
    Daniel Orlandi – Saving Mr Banks

behindtcblurayMake Up & Hair

    Evelyne Noraz, Lori McCoy-Bell – American Hustle
    Kate Biscoe, Marie Larkin – Behind the Candelabra (right)
    Debra Denson, Beverly Jo Pryor, Candace Neal – The Butler
    Maurizio Silvi, Kerry Warn – The Great Gatsby
    Peter Swords King, Richard Taylor, Rick Findlater – The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug


    Richard Hymns, Steve Boeddeker, Brandon Proctor, Micah Bloomberg, Gillian Arthur – All is Lost
    Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith, Chris Munro, Oliver Tarney – Captain Phillips
    Glenn Freemantle, Skip Lievsay, Christopher Benstead, Niv Adiri, Chris Munro – Gravity
    Peter F Kurland, Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff – Inside Llewyn Davis
    Danny Hambrook, Martin Steyer, Stefan Korte, Markus Stemler, Frank Kruse – Rush

Special Visual Effects

    Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, David Shirk, Neil Corbould, Nikki Penny – Gravity
    Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton, Eric Reynolds – The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
    Bryan Grill, Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Dan Sudick – Iron Man 3
    Hal Hickel, John Knoll, Lindy De Quattro, Nigel Sumner – Pacific Rim
    Ben Grossmann, Burt Dalton, Patrick Tubach, Roger Guyett – Star Trek Into Darkness

British Short Animation

    Everything I Can See From Here
    I Am Tom Moody
    Sleeping With the Fishes

British Short Film

    Sland Queen
    Keeping Up With the Joneses
    Orbit Ever After
    Room 8
    Sea View

EE Rising Star Award

    Dane DeHaan
    George Mackay
    Lupita Nyong’O
    Will Poulter
    Léa Seydoux