Manic Street Preachers: Leaving The 20th Century

Dom Robinson reviews

Manic Street Preachers:
Leaving The 20th Century
(The Incomplete Work of Manic Street Preachers)
Distributed by
Sony Music DVD


  • 201126 9
  • Cert: E
  • Running time: 102 minutes
  • Year: 1999/2000
  • Pressing: 2000
  • Region(s): 2, PAL
  • Chapters: 24
  • Sound: Dolby Digital 2.0 (Dolby Stereo)
  • Languages: English
  • Lyrics: English, French
  • Widescreen: 16:9 (1.77:1)
  • 16:9-enhanced: No
  • Macrovision: No
  • Disc Format: DVD 5
  • Price: £19.99
  • Extras : Scene index, Discography, Lyrics, Interview footage, Studio songs, Photo Gallery.

Manic Street Preachers: Leaving The 20th Century is the gig that the band performed to see out 1999 on December 31st at Cardiff’s Millennium Stadium. In fact, the gig was labelled “Manic Millennium” even though that doesn’t happen until the end of 2000 – something that this band and amazingly the Church of England let slip from their memory.

That aside, the Manics know how to put on a decent gig and it confirms their position as one of the biggest bands around in the UK today. If I had been there, it would certainly have been the best way to celebrate the New Year compared with London’s supposed “river of fire”, the laughable “London Eye” or, heaven forbid, a trip to that huge £768million white elephant known as the Millennium Dome.

The Manics line-up features James Dean Bradfield on lead vocals and lead guitar, Nicky Wire performs backup duties in both cases and Sean Moore plays the drums. No-one still yet knows what became of band member Richey Edwards.

The concert features 22 tracks, the last, A Design For Life, coming shortly after the stroke of midnight.

Their singles chart history in the UK to date (July 2000) is as follows :