Crew – The DVDfever Cinema Review – Tabu, Kareena Kapoor, Kriti Sanon

Crew Crew centres around three air stewardesses, flirty Divya (Kriti Sanon) – who has the hots for Jaiveer (Diljit Dosanjh), entreprenurial Jasmine (Kareena Kapoor) and married Geeta (TabuLife Of Pi), hence part of the cabin crew.

They haven’t been paid properly in over 6 months, with their pension plan going down the toilet, but when flying back home with their boss, Mr. Rajvanshi (Ramakant Dayma), he dies unexpectedly and – even more so – he’s carrying lots of gold about his person. Hence, they hatch a plan to steal and smuggle it for themselves, but it’s not easy to hide 12kg gold from customs…

Naturally, their plans don’t quite go to plan, but it’s difficult to say too much about the plot in this film, since it goes back and forth over certain scenes, jumping back and forth in time, for no reason other than to make it last far longer than it needs to, especially adding in brief elements of song and dance, plus shenanigans with the head of HR, Pruthviraj Mittal (Rajesh Sharma).

As such, this is an 80-minute comedy stretched out to almost two hours, plus the 10-minute interval!

This is the second Bollywood-esque film I’ve ever seen, following the previous week’s Bade Miyan Chote Miyan, but while that was almost three hours and, as such, an interval would normally be welcome, this one didn’t needit. Seems they’re a thing, though.

Crew is in cinemas now, but isn’t yet available to pre-order on Blu-ray or DVD. However, once announced, it will appear on the New DVD Blu-ray 3D and 4K releases UK list.

Crew – Official Trailer – Balaji Motion Pictures

Detailed specs:

Running time: 118 minutes (plus interval)
Release date: April 19th 2024
Studio: Balaji Motion Pictures
Aspect Ratio: 2.39:1
Cinema: Odeon Trafford Centre
Rating: 5/10

Director: Rajesh Krishnan
Producers: Anil Kapoor, Ekta Kapoor, Rhea Kapoor, Shobha Kapoor, Digvijay Purohit
Screenplay: Nidhi Mehra, Mehul Suri
Music: Raj Ranjodh

Geeta Sethi: Tabu
Jasmine Kohli: Kareena Kapoor
Divya Rana: Kriti Sanon
Jaiveer Singh: Diljit Dosanjh
Arun Sethi: Kapil Sharma
Pruthviraj Mittal: Rajesh Sharma
Vijay Walia: Saswata Chatterjee
Nanu: Kulbhushan Kharbanda
SI Mala: Trupti Khamkar
Sudha Mittal: Charu Shankar
Mr. Rajvanshi: Ramakant Dayma
Komal: Pooja Bhamrrah